Quiksilver Pro Surfing Titles

The Quiksilver Pro on the Gold Coast

Upcoming Dates: 27 Feb - 11 March 2015

With some of the greatest waves in the world at the doorstep (albeit a sandy doorstep) the Gold Coast is the natural home to the Quiksilver Pro, the first event on the ASP (Association of Surfing Professionals) World Tour - the most prestigious surfing competition on earth.

The competition is held wherever the best waves are on the day, and takes in an area from South Strabroke Island to Ballina in NSW - cyclones permitting, the home of the tour is at Snapper Rocks in Coolangatta where the legendary new wave breaks all the way to Kirra providing the longest rideable waves in the ocean.

The Gold Coast has been home to world class professional surfing for decades, but only recently have the fabled pointbreaks been called into Foster's ASP Men's World Tour duty. Formerly a ASP six-star WQS venue, Quiksilver staged their inagural Quiksilver Pro ASP World Tour event at Snapper in 2002. Since then, it's been one barrier-breaking event after another.

Quicksilver Pro Gold CoastKelly Slater kicked off his unprecedented eighth ASP World Title with a win at the 2006 Quiksilver Pro - which was relocated to nearby Duranbah Beach after a cyclone tore up the Superbank. Mick Fanning's victory at the 2005 Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast completed the "Cooly Kids" competitive domination of the venue. With fellow Coolangatta stable mates Joel Parkinson and Dean Morrison winning the event in 2002 and 2003 respectively, Fanning's win rounded off the hometown trio's trifecta.

To make the victory even sweeter, it was Mick's first event back since his near career-ending injury the previous season.

Past Winners

  • 2014: Gabriel Medina (Brazil)
  • 2013: Kelly Slater (USA)
  • 2012: Taj Burrows (AUS)
  • 2011: Kelly Slater (USA)
  • 2010: Taj Burrow (AUS)
  • 2009: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
  • 2008: Kelly Slater (USA)
  • 2007: Mick Fanning (AUS)
  • 2006: Kelly Slater (USA)
  • 2005: Mick Fanning (AUS)
  • 2004: Michael Lowe (AUS)
  • 2003: Dean Morrison (AUS)
  • 2002: Joel Parkinson (AUS)

Quiksilver Pro Links